August TBR. Yes it’s slightly late!

Hello Adventurers!

Usually I don’t set myself monthly TBRs because as you all probably know by now, I really cant stick to them, but I’ve been having a few really terrible reading months these past months and I need a kick up the butt. My TBR is actually completely and totally out of control after YALC and it’s just crazy. My poor TBR bookshelf is physically buckling under the weight of all my unread books and I’ve now totally ran out of room, which means I can’t buy any more books until I’ve read some I already own. I’m setting myself a little challenge too, I’m not going to order any new books (unless it’s a highly anticipated release) for the rest of the year. Starting now. I’m officially on my first ever book buying ban! And with that now decided, let’s check out my August TBR!

The Psychology of Time Travel – Kate Mascarenhas TPOTT

This book is absolutely gorgeous, it even has a ribbon! A freaking ribbon, in a normal, non collectors/special edition! (Can you tell I’ve never had a ribbon in a normal book haha!) I was lucky enough to receive a copy to review from the publisher Head of Zeus and I’m so excited to read it! It’s out now so you can grab yourself a copy too! Here’s the synopsis:

1967: Four female scientists invent a time-travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the world to new possibilities. But then one of them suffers a breakdown and puts the whole project in peril.

2017: Ruby knows her beloved Granny Bee was a pioneer, but they never talk about the past. Though time travel is now big business, Bee has never been part of it. Then they receive a message from the future–a newspaper clipping reporting the mysterious death of an elderly lady.

2018: When Odette discovered the body, she went into shock. Blood everywhere, bullet wounds, flesh. But when the inquest fails to answer any of her questions, Odette is frustrated. Who is this dead woman that haunts her dreams? And why is everyone determined to cover up her murder?

The Boneless Mercies – April Genevieve Tucholke TBM

A book about four fierce girls hired to kill? I’m so ready to meet the Mercies! I was lucky enough to receive an ARC from Simon & Schuster and I’m so excited to get started. The Boneless Mercies is due to be published on the 4th October! Here’s the synopsis:
Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are the Boneless Mercies—girls hired to kill quickly, quietly, and mercifully. But Frey is weary of the death trade and, having been raised on the heroic sagas of her people, dreams of a bigger life.

When she hears of an unstoppable monster ravaging a nearby town, Frey decides this is the Mercies’ one chance out. The fame and fortune of bringing down such a beast would ensure a new future for all the Mercies. In fact, her actions may change the story arc of women everywhere.

Full of fierce girls, bloodlust, tenuous alliances, and unapologetic quests for glory, this elegantly spun tale challenges the power of storytelling—and who gets to be the storyteller. Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab, and Heidi Heilig.

Vicious – V.E. Schwab V

Me reading this book has been long overdue, Schwab is one of my favourite authors and I just can’t believe I haven’t read this yet! I’ve heard amazing things and can not wait! Here’s the synopsis:

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong.

Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?

Lifel1k3 – Jay Kristoff LL

Jay Kristoff is another favourite, auto-buy author for me, I’ve loved everything I’ve read of his so far and really think I’m going to love Lifel1k3 too, in my eyes, Kristoff can do no wrong haha! Here’s the synopsis:

On a floating junkyard beneath a radiation sky, a deadly secret lies buried in the scrap.

Eve isn’t looking for secrets—she’s too busy looking over her shoulder. The robot gladiator she’s just spent six months building has been reduced to a smoking wreck, and the only thing keeping her Grandpa from the grave was the fistful of credits she just lost to the bookies. To top it off, she’s discovered she can destroy electronics with the power of her mind, and the puritanical Brotherhood are building a coffin her size. If she’s ever had a worse day, Eve can’t remember it.

But when Eve discovers the ruins of an android boy named Ezekiel in the scrap pile she calls home, her entire world comes crashing down. With her best friend Lemon Fresh and her robotic conscience, Cricket, in tow, she and Ezekiel will trek across deserts of irradiated glass, infiltrate towering megacities and scour the graveyard of humanity’s greatest folly to save the ones Eve loves, and learn the dark secrets of her past.

Even if those secrets were better off staying buried.

And there we have it, a relatively short TBR, but since I read a grand total of 0 books last month, I thought I’d start off easy!

Are any of these on your TBR this month? Or have you read any/do you plan to read any? And if you have, what did you think?

img_8394

 

14 thoughts on “August TBR. Yes it’s slightly late!”

  1. I hope you enjoy everything off your TBR, but especially Vicious since it’s the only book I’ve read and one that I absolutely adored ❤
    I liked the way V.E. Schwab twisted the whole hero complex and gave it another meaning altogether. Absolutely amazing!
    I still haven't read anything by Kristoff, something that I need to change right now because everyone is raving about his books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m so excited to get to Vicious, I haven’t heard a bad thing about this book at all! I have to read the ARCs first though! 😄 I’ve started reading The Psychology of Time Travel and I’m really enjoying it so far.
      Oh yes you should definitely read some of his books, I recommend Nevernight, or the Illuminae files! 🙊

      Like

  2. Wow! I just came back from the bookstore and saw The Psychology of Time Travel (I didn’t notice the ribbon though, which is unfortunate because damn that’s amazing!). It really sparked my interest! I am looking out for a review of you about that book!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s pretty much exactly what I do when I make TBRs as well! It’s like as soon as I make the list I’m just like ‘nope, don’t want to read any of those now’. It’s so frustrating haha! Let’s hope you and I get better at sticking to our TBRs :’)

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s